Wi-Fi 6

Was ist 802.11ax-Wi-Fi?

Die Wi-Fi-Technik erlebt ca. alle fünf Jahre einen radikalen Wandel, und Wi-Fi 6 / 802.11ax ist die neueste Wi-Fi-Generation, die die Leistungslücke in Richtung zehn Gigabit schließt. Der neue Wi-Fi-Standard sorgt für schnellere Netzwerkleistung, er ermöglicht das gleichzeitige Verbinden mehrerer Geräte und den Übergang vom Wi-Fi als Best-Effort-Bestreben hin zu einer deterministischen drahtlosen Technologie, das zum faktischen Medium für die Internetkonnektivität geworden ist. Mit einer erwarteten vierfachen Kapazität im Vergleich zum Vorgänger 802.11ac Wave 2 unterstützt das in Umgebungen mit hoher Gerätedichte bereitgestellte Wi-Fi 6 / 802.11ax höhere Service-Level-Vereinbarungen (SLAs) für mehr gleichzeitig verbundene Benutzer mit vielfältigeren Nutzungsprofilen.

Details

802.11ax bietet eine Reihe technischer Verbesserungen zum Optimieren der spektralen Effizienz, Erhöhen des Durchsatzes und Reduzieren des Energieverbrauchs. Dazu gehören:

OFDMA und MU-MIMO

Bei Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiple Access (OFDMA) und Multi-User Multiple-In Multiple-Out (MU-MIMO) handelt es sich um Techniken zur Verbesserung der Zuverlässigkeit und Effizienz im Wi-Fi-Spektrum ohne Lizenzen. Im Gegensatz zu früheren Wi-Fi-Generationen macht OFDMA das Wi-Fi deterministisch, während Geräte immer mehr Aufmerksamkeit mit minimalen Konflikten erhalten. So wird die Wi-Fi-Leistung stabilisiert, besonders in Umgebungen mit hoher Dichte.

Jeder Wi-Fi-Kanal wird in kleinere Unterkanäle aufgeteilt, die als Ressourceneinheiten bezeichnet werden. Der AP entscheidet über die Zuweisung der Unterkanäle, da jede einzelne RE (bzw. jeder einzelne Unterkanal) an verschiedene Clients adressiert sein kann, die simultan bedient werden. Durch diese Technik wird der durchschnittliche Durchsatz (pro Benutzer) verbessert, indem ein begrenzterer, aber dedizierter Unterkanal erstellt wird. Außerdem fördert OFDMA die spektrale Effizienz und reduziert die Latenz, während heterogene Benutzer unterstützt werden (also IM, E-Mail oder leichtes Webbrowsing versus große Downloads).

Wichtig ist dabei, dass OFDMA und MU-MIMO ergänzende Techniken zur gleichzeitigen Versorgung mehrerer Benutzer bieten. Genauer gesagt ist OFDMA am besten geeignet, wenn beschränkte Datenmengen über mehrere Verbindungen übertragen werden. Der in allen Bereichen (nah, mittelweit und weit) effektive OFDMA bietet eine geringe Latenz und kann zum Abschwächen von OBSS-Interferenzproblemen verwendet werden. MU-MIMO hingegen ist am besten für die Versorgung mehrerer Benutzer mit vollständigem Pufferverkehr geeignet und ist im nahen bis mittleren Bereich am effektivsten.

Uplink-MU-MIMO

Bei 802.11ax werden OFDMA und MU-MIMO für Downlink (vom AP an Stationen) und Uplink (von Stationen an den AP) unterstützt. Die Übertragungen werden vom AP in beide Richtungen geplant. Dies steht im Gegensatz zu Netzwerken vor 802.11ax (besonders bei Uplink), bei denen die Ressourcenzuweisung konfliktbasiert ist. Dabei wird die Entscheidung zur Medienzuordnung und Datenübertragung von den einzelnen Stationen getroffen. Mit mehr Stationen kommt es so auch zu mehr Konflikten.

Unterbetreiberplatz und MAC/PHY-Verbesserungen

Durch 802.11ax wird der Unterbetreiberplatz reduziert und so ein 4-facher Anstieg der Anzahl verfügbarer Datennuancen und eine bedeutende Steigerung der maximalen PHY-Rate ermöglicht. Darüber hinaus sind zusätzliche Datenabstufungen für die Unterstützung mehrerer Benutzer in Verbindung mit OFDMA förderlich. Des Weiteren wird mit 802.11ax die spektrale Effizienz durch mehr Nuancen/Kanäle optimiert, Overhead reduziert, Außenbetrieb unterstützt und ein Quantensprung zur höchstmöglichen PHY-Rate vereinfacht. 802.11ax-APs betreiben außerdem zwei separate Netzwerkzuweisungsvektoren (NAVs), um falsches Verhalten und Kollisionen zu vermeiden. Zu guter Letzt verfügt 802.11ax über eine 1024-QAM-Konstellation (im Gegensatz zu 256-QAM für 11ac), wodurch eine Steigerung der physischen Datenrate um 25 % ermöglicht wird, die in Kombination mit anderen 802.11ax-Techniken die bis zu 4-fache Kapazität bietet.

Target Wake Time

Target Wake Time (TWT) wurde erstmals mit dem IEEE 802.11ah-Standard eingeführt und ermöglicht geplante Ruhe- und Betriebszeiten (Wachzeiten) sowie vorverhandelte Wachzeiten zwischen AP und Clients, um Live-Konflikte zwischen den Client-Geräten zu vermeiden. Dadurch wird die Sendenutzung effizienter und die Akkulaufzeit der Clientgeräte erhöht.

802.11ax-Grundlagen: orthogonaler Frequenzmultiplexzugriff

Laut IDC-Analytikern werden 802.11ax-Bereitstellungen im Jahr 2019 deutlich zunehmen und bis 2021 der vorherrschende Wi-Fi-Standard für Unternehmen sein. Der neue IEEE 802.11ax-Standard wurde für Verbindungen mit hoher Dichte konzipiert und bietet im Vergleich zu seinem Vorgänger 802.11ac Wave 2 die vierfache Kapazität. Mit 802.11ax können mehrere APs, die in Umgebungen mit hoher Gerätedichte bereitgestellt werden, die erforderliche Dienstqualität (QoS) für mehr Clients und vielfältigere Nutzungsprofile bereitstellen.

Weitere Informationen

IDC Technology Spotlight White Paper

Evaluierung des neuen 802.11ax-Wi-Fi-Standards und seiner Bedeutung für Unternehmen

Weitere Informationen

Ruckus-Blog

https://theruckusroom.ruckuswireless.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/wifiillustra...

802.11ax-Grundlagen: Target Wake Time (TWT)

Dennis Huang

Weitere Informationen
https://theruckusroom.ruckuswireless.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/worldCUp-600...

Gespräch über Wi-Fi und die Weltmeisterschaft 2022

Ruckus Networks

Weitere Informationen
https://theruckusroom.ruckuswireless.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/09/blog.smart_....

Vernetzung von Smart Cities mit 802.11ax-APs

Ruckus Networks

Weitere Informationen
https://theruckusroom.ruckuswireless.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/FinalR730-gl...

Ruckus plant Ultra-High-Density-Wi-Fi-Bereitstellungen mit R730 AP

Dennis Huang

Weitere Informationen
https://theruckusroom.ruckuswireless.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/esports3-600...

eSports Wi-Fi FTW!

Ruckus Networks

Weitere Informationen

802.11ax

What is 802.11ax Wi-Fi?

Wi-Fi experiences a seismic change approximately every five years – and 802.11ax is the latest generation of Wi-Fi that bridges the performance gap towards ten gigabit speeds. The new Wi-Fi standard will deliver faster network performance, connect more devices simultaneously and transition Wi-Fi from a ‘best-effort’ endeavor to a deterministic wireless technology that has become the de-facto medium for internet connectivity. With an expected four-fold capacity increase over its 802.11ac Wave 2 predecessor, 802.11ax deployed in dense device environments will support higher service-level agreements (SLAs) to more concurrently connected users and devices with more diverse usage profiles.

IDC Technology Spotlight Paper

Evaluating the New 802.11ax WiFi Standard and What It Will Mean for Enterprises. Read More.

802.11ax offers a range of technical enhancements to optimize spectral efficiency, increase throughput and reduce power consumption. These include:

OFDMA and MU-MIMO

Orthogonal frequency-division multiple access (OFDMA) and multi-user multiple-in multiple-out (MU-MIMO) are techniques that increase reliability and efficiency in the unlicensed Wi-Fi spectrum. In contrast to previous generations of Wi-Fi, OFDMA enables Wi-Fi to become deterministic, as devices consistently receive more attention with minimal contention. This helps stabilize Wi-Fi performance, especially in higher density environments.

Each Wi-Fi channel is divided into smaller sub-channels known as Resource Units. The AP decides how to allocate the sub-channels, as each individual RU (or sub-channel) can be addressed to different clients that are serviced simultaneously. This technique improves the average throughput (per user) by creating a narrower, albeit dedicated sub-channel. Moreover, OFDMA boosts spectral efficiency and reduces latency, while supporting heterogeneous users (i.e., IM, email or light web browsing versus large downloads).

It is important to note that OFDMA and MU-MIMO provide complementary techniques to concurrently serve multiple users. More specifically, OFDMA is best utilized when multiple connections transmit limited amounts of data. OFDMA which is effective at all ranges – close, medium and far – offers lower latency and can be used to mitigate OBSS interference issues. Meanwhile, MU-MIMO best serves multiple user with full buffer traffic and is most effective at close-to mid-range.

Uplink MU-MIMO

With 802.11ax, OFDMA and MU-MIMO are supported in downlink (from AP to stations) and uplink (from stations to AP). It should be noted that the AP schedules the transmissions in both directions. This contrasts with pre-802.11ax networks (especially in uplink direction), where resource allocation is contention-based, with individual stations making the decision to appropriate the medium and transmit data. As stations increase, so does contention.

Sub-carrier spacing and MAC/PHY enhancements

With 802.11ax, sub-carrier spacing is reduced, thereby enabling a 4X jump in the number of available data-tones and significantly increasing maximum PHY rates. Moreover, additional data tones help support multiple users in conjunction with OFDMA. 802.11ax also optimizes spectral efficiency with more tones/channel, reduces overhead, bolsters outdoor operation and facilitates a quantum jump in highest achievable PHY rates. In addition, 802.11ax APs maintains two separate network allocation vectors (NAVs) to prevent misbehavior and collisions. Last, but certainly not least, 802.11ax features a 1024-QAM constellation (in contrast to 256-QAM for 11ac), enabling a 25% physical data rate increase that in combination with other 802.11ax techniques offer up to 4x the capacity.

Target Wake Time

First introduced in the IEEE 802.11ah standard, target wake time (TWT) enables scheduled sleep and power-on (awake) times, along with pre-negotiated wake times between AP and clients to avoid on-the-air contention amongst client devices. This helps make air utilization more efficient and enhances the battery life of client devices.

Ruckus Blog

https://theruckusroom.ruckuswireless.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/wifiillustra...

802.11ax fundamentals: Target Wake Time (TWT)

Dennis Huang

https://theruckusroom.ruckuswireless.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/worldCUp-600...

Let’s talk about Wi-Fi and the 2022 World Cup

Ruckus Networks

https://theruckusroom.ruckuswireless.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/09/blog.smart_....

Connecting smart cities with 802.11ax APs

Ruckus Networks

https://theruckusroom.ruckuswireless.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/FinalR730-gl...

Ruckus targets ultra-high-density Wi-Fi deployments with R730 AP

Dennis Huang

https://theruckusroom.ruckuswireless.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/esports3-600...

eSports Wi-Fi FTW!

Ruckus Networks

802.11ax 

General Networking Technologies

What it means:

802.11ax, is the latest Wi-Fi IEEE wireless standard. This new standard brings significant advances on multiple fronts.  It expands the multiple input, multiple output (MU-MIMO) techniques to transmit simultaneously on up to eight streams compared to four streams on 802.11ac Wave 2. Furthermore, it piggybacks on MU-MIMO with Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access (OFDMA) technology allowing each MU-MIMO stream to be split into four additional streams, boosting effective average throughput per user by four times.

Introduction of new modulation and coding sets with 1024-QAM allows for more data to be transmitted per packet resulting in better throughput. It also improved the overall physical and MAC layer efficiency and improves the battery power management.

If earlier standard was like a long line of customers waiting in a grocery store for one cashier, MU-MIMO expanded it to four cashiers serving four lines of customers in 802.11ac. 802.11ax expanded it further to eight cashiers serving eight lines of customers. With OFDMA, now the cashier gets the ability to handle multiple customers at a time when they are free. Imagine, a cashier being able to serve the next customer, if the first customer decides to do a quick run back to pick something up.

Why you should care:

Wi-Fi is now being deployed at crowded stadiums or busy airports with hundreds of thousands of devices fighting for bandwidth which the current 802.11ac standard has challenges in supporting. 802.11ax increase the average throughput per user by 4x in high-density scenarios.

The newest standard combined with Ruckus’ Ultra-High-Density Technology Suite will empower you to deliver the best end-user experience.